International AIDS Society

Red Ribbon Award

2014 Red Ribbon Award Winners to be Recognized at AIDS2014!

On World AIDS Day 2013, UNAIDS, the organising partners of the 20th International AIDS Conference and civil society partners jointly announced a global call for nominations for the 2014 Red Ribbon Award. The award, which will be presented in July 2014 at the International AIDS Conference (AIDS2014) in Melbourne, Australia, will be given to ten community based organizations that have shown outstanding community leadership and action on AIDS. A Special Session, featuring high-level speakers, will feature the RRA Winners and their accomplishments in the community-based response to AIDS.

The five award categories are:
  • Prevention of sexual transmission
  • Prevention among/by people who use drugs
  • Treatment, care and support
  • Advocacy and human rights
  • Stopping new HIV infections in children and keeping mothers alive; women's health.
The selected community organizations will benefit from international visibility and an invitation to participate in AIDS2014. Additionally, each recipient of the award will receive a US$10,000 grant to expand their capacities and serve their communities even better.

Additional information regarding the Red Ribbon Award, the categories and criteria for selection can be found on this website address:


Join us at AIDS2014 to shine a light on the best that the response to AIDS can offer!









Red Ribbon Award