International AIDS Society

Continuing Medical Education (CME)

European Accreditation Council for Continuing Medication Education (EACCME)

The 20th International AIDS Conference (AIDS 2014) is accredited by the European Accreditation Council for Continuing Medical Education (EACCME) to provide the following CME activity for medical specialists. The EACCME is an institution of the European Union of Medical Specialists (UEMS), www.uems.net.

The 20th International AIDS Conference (AIDS 2014) is designated for a maximum of 29 hours of European external CME credits (ECMEC). Each medical specialist should claim only those hours of credit that he/she actually spent in the educational activity.

Through an agreement between the European Union of Medical Specialists and the American Medical Association, physicians may convert EACCME credits to an equivalent number of AMA PRA Category 1 Credits™. Information on the process to convert EACCME credit to AMA credit can be found at www.ama-assn.org/go/internationalcme.

Live educational activities, occurring outside of Canada, recognized by the UEMS-EACCME for ECMEC credits are deemed to be Accredited Group Learning Activities (Section 1) as defined by the Maintenance of Certification Program of The Royal College of Physicians and Surgeons of Canada.

How to claim your European CME credits?

Shortly after the conference, all delegates will receive an email with a link to our CME system. Those delegates that need to receive a certificate for European CME credits (ECMEC) for attending the conference will need to follow the instructions given in the email to download their CME credits certificate. Please note that we will not deliver ECMEC certificate onsite, the process will be managed entirely online after the conference.

ASHM HIV s100 Prescriber CPD Points

HIV s100 prescribers who are accredited in NSW/ACT/VIC/SA are eligible to receive CPD points for attending AIDS 2014.

To be allocated points please send an email to detailing your name and the days that you attended the conference. If you presented at the conference please indicate as such.

Up to 5 points will be awarded for attendance and points may be available for presenting.

The Nursing and Midwifery Board of Australia’s Continuing Professional Development

The Nursing and Midwifery Board of Australia’s Continuing Professional Development Registration Standard acknowledges one hour of active learning is equal to one hour of continuing professional development (CPD). In Australia, it is the nurse/midwife’s responsibility to document CPD, provided it meets the criteria as set out in the Registration Standard. ASHM, ANZANAC & ASHHNA have prepared a simple document to assist nurses to appropriately record the relevant information during the AIDS2014 Conference. This document will be available at the Nursing Exhibition Booth (631) in the Global Village. Alternatively, email Emily Wheeler () for more information or an electronic copy of the document.


Conference Certificates

Conference Certificates of Attendance and CME Certificates can be downloaded here.